Web Analytics

Register of persons

The following persons and organizations are listed for consideration of acknowledgements if such procedure is contemplated.

Robert Cantwell

Literary Editor and author of New York City.
Mr. Cantwell was the prime mover in urging me to write the book. His interest and encouragement played no small part in my endeavor to complete the manuscript. Were it not for Mr. Cantwell, the story of my adventure trip might never have been written.

Note
Unless Mr. Cantwell does the editing of the manuscript, the reference to him will require considerable consideration. He is entitled to, and I wish to make a reference to him, but I do not know if he would approve.

Hon. Joseph C. Grew

Former American Ambassador and Career Diplomat.
Mr. Grew was First Secretary to the American Embassy in Berlin during 1915, and took a leading part in making arrangements for my return to the United States. In his autobiography "Turbulent Era", published in 1952, Mr. Grew included the episode of my arrival at the Embassy in Berlin. In reviewing "Turbulent Era" by Mr. Cantwell, this episode was noticed which prompted Mr. Cantwell to discover my whereabouts to interest me in writing my narrative. Mr. Grew's assistance and kind words of encouragement, from time to time, proved a great help for me to continue the project.

Mr. Emil Slovarp

Norwegian Vice-Consul at Portland, Oregon in 1953.
Mr. Slovarp graciously contributed his time, making his old records available whereby I secured the names and home residence, as quoted, of my former shipmates on the Cambuskenneth who signed on with me in Portland.

Captain Fred C. Poyser

Proprietor of Nautical Photo Agency, Beccles, Suffolk, England.
Captain Poyser went to great extent in securing photographs of vessels mentioned in the narrative and with supplying me with information concerning them. His operation is great appreciated.

Captain Arthur Swanson

Portland, Oregon, Captain and officer of American vessels for over fifteen years.
Captain Swanson, born in Waxholm, Sweden, went to sea at fourteen years of age, and spent ten years on sailing ships of various nationalities. His wide experience was of great help in verifying the correctness of the sailing ship episodes of the narrative.

Captain William Z. Haskins

San Francisco, California.
Captain Haskins was Second Officer of the American-. Hawaiian steamer S.S. Honolulan during the time I served as quartermaster aboard that vessel. He checked and corroborated the chapter dealing with this phase of my adventure.

Captain Walter Forstmann

German Navy Ret. Former Commander of the U 39.
A very surprising and unhoped for contact, and who has been most cooperative in supplying pictures, data and information concerning the actions of the U 39 at the time I was aboard his submarine.

Captain-lieutenant Franz Schwarz

German Navy Ret. Former Navigating Officer of the U 39 during the time I was aboard.
Another surprising contact. Captain-lieutenant Schwarz also made extensive personal efforts to obtain pictures and data relating to the submarine. He was most cooperative in furnishing all information I requested. It was this retired naval officer who noticed the advertisement published in a Hamburg paper wherein I was seeking information regarding former shipmates of the sailing ship or of the submarine. He wrote to me and informed me that the former commander of the submarine was still living. He told me the commander would like to hear from me and gave me his address.

German Red Cross.

Through attention from the postmaster of Hamburg, this organization uncovered the fact that Hermann Nilson, the carpenter of the Cambuskenneth, was living at Kiel. They sent me his address which enabled me to enjoy a long interrupted and happy correspondence with a good friend and shipmate of the sailing ship. However, the German Red Cross was unable to uncover any information regarding other German shipmates from my former vessel.

Postmaster, Hamburg, Germany.

The postmaster of Hamburg published my request, regarding information of former shipmates, in a leading Hamburg newspaper and brought it to the attention of various organizations. It was through such efforts that Captain-lieutenant Schwarz learned my whereabouts and decided to correspond with me.

Mr E. Kristoffersen

Postmaster of Halden, Norway.
Mr. Kristoffersen’s cooperation was lengthy and wonderful and is greatly appreciated. His time and efforts enabled me to locate another shipmate, Johan Fjeld, of the city of Fredrikstad, Norway, with whom I have corresponded.

Pastor’s Ambetet

Malmö, Sweden.
This organization, through the Public Record Keener of Malmö, uncovered the whereabouts of Axel Wilelm Jönsson, (Adolph), the cook of the Cambuskenneth.

Town Clerks of Birmingham and Smethwick, England.

Both gentlemen contributed generously of their time endeavoring to locate my former shipmate, John Brale, (Jimmy). The results, however, proved negative.

Postmasters - Bergen, Norway and Lausanne, Switzerland.

Their efforts and information regarding former shipmates is also appreciated.

National Organization of Masters, Mates & Pilots of America.

Locals AO and 90 of San Francisco, California.
Clues forwarded to me by these organizations enabled me to contact Captain William Z. Haskins.

Mr. Roy Peterson

Bonneville, Oregon.
A professional photographer and friend. Mr. Peterson contributed very generously of his time and talent in reproducing the pictures and documents appertaining to the narrative. His help is deeply appreciated.

Note
The acknowledgements can no doubt be expressed in much better form. I am merely submitting my thoughts regarding the individual cases.

C.F.L.

Web Analytics

Personenregister

Die folgenden Personen und Organisationen sind zur Berücksichtigung von Anerkennungen aufgeführt, wenn ein solches Verfahren in Betracht gezogen wird.

Robert Cantwell

Literaturredakteur und Autor von New York City.
Mr. Cantwell hat mich dazu gedrängt, das Buch zu schreiben. Sein Interesse und seine Ermutigung spielten bei meinem Bestreben, das Manuskript zu vervollständigen, keine geringe Rolle. Ohne Mr. Cantwell wäre die Geschichte meiner Abenteuerreise vielleicht nie geschrieben worden.

Anmerkung
Wenn Herr Cantwell das Manuskript nicht redigiert, wird der Verweis auf ihn erhebliche Überlegungen erfordern. Er hat das Recht dazu, und ich möchte einen Hinweis auf ihn geben, aber ich weiß nicht, ob er dem zustimmen würde.

Hon. Joseph C. Grew

Ehemaliger amerikanischer Botschafter und Karrierediplomat.
Herr Grew war 1915 Erster Sekretär der Amerikanischen Botschaft in Berlin und war maßgeblich an den Vorbereitungen für meine Rückkehr in die Vereinigten Staaten beteiligt. In seiner 1952 erschienenen Autobiographie "Turbulente Ära" schloss Herr Grew die Episode meiner Ankunft in der Botschaft in Berlin ein. Bei der Rezension von "Turbulent Era" von Mr. Cantwell wurde diese Episode bemerkt, die Mr. Cantwell dazu veranlasste, meinen Aufenthaltsort zu entdecken, um mich beim Schreiben meiner Erzählung zu interessieren. Mr. Grews Hilfe und freundliche Worte der Ermutigung erwiesen sich von Zeit zu Zeit als große Hilfe für mich, um das Projekt fortzusetzen.

Emil Slovarp

Norwegischer Vizekonsul in Portland, Oregon 1953.
Herr Slovarp steuerte seine Zeit bei, indem er seine alten Aufzeichnungen zur Verfügung stellte, wodurch ich mir die Namen und den Wohnsitz meiner ehemaligen Schiffskameraden von der Cambuskenneth sicherte, die sich bei mir in Portland angemeldet hatten.

Kapitän Fred C. Poyser

Inhaber der Nautical Photo Agency, Beccles, Suffolk, England.
Kapitän Poyser hat sich in hohem Maße darum bemüht, Fotos der in der Erzählung erwähnten Schiffe zu sichern und mich mit Informationen über sie zu versorgen. Seine Operation wird sehr geschätzt.

Kapitän Arthur Swanson

Portland, Oregon, Kapitän und Offizier der amerikanischen Schiffe seit über fünfzehn Jahren.
Kapitän Swanson, geboren in Waxholm, Schweden, ging mit vierzehn Jahren auf See und verbrachte zehn Jahre auf Segelschiffen verschiedener Nationalitäten. Seine große Erfahrung war eine große Hilfe bei der Überprüfung der Korrektheit der Segelschiff-Episoden der Erzählung.

Kapitän William Z. Haskins

San Francisco, Kalifornien.
Captain Haskins war Zweiter Offizier des Amerikaners. Hawaiianischer Dampfer S.S. Honolulan während meiner Zeit als Quartiermeister an Bord dieses Schiffes. Er hat das Kapitel über diese Phase meines Abenteuers überprüft und bestätigt.

Kapitän Walter Forstmann

Deutsche Marine a.D. Ehemaliger Kommandant der U 39.
Ein sehr überraschender und unerwarteter Kontakt, der bei der Bereitstellung von Bildern, Daten und Informationen über die Aktionen der U 39 zu der Zeit, als ich an Bord seines U-Bootes war, sehr kooperativ war.

Kapitän-Leutnant Franz Schwarz

Deutsche Marine a.D. Ehemaliger Navigator der U 39 während meiner Zeit an Bord.
Ein weiterer überraschender Kontakt. Auch Kapitän Leutnant Schwarz unternahm umfangreiche persönliche Anstrengungen, um Bilder und Daten über das U-Boot zu erhalten. Er war sehr kooperativ bei der Bereitstellung aller von mir gewünschten Informationen. Es war dieser pensionierte Marineoffizier, der die in einer Hamburger Zeitung veröffentlichte Anzeige bemerkte, in der ich Informationen über ehemalige Schiffskollegen des Segelschiffes oder des U-Bootes suchte. Er schrieb mir und teilte mir mit, dass der ehemalige Kommandant des U-Bootes noch am Leben sei. Er sagte mir, der Kommandant möchte von mir hören und gab mir seine Adresse.

Deutsches Rotes Kreuz

Durch die Aufmerksamkeit des Hamburger Postmeisters entdeckte diese Organisation, dass Hermann Nilson, der Zimmermann der Cambuskenneth, in Kiel lebte. Sie schickten mir seine Adresse, die es mir ermöglichte, eine lange unterbrochene und glückliche Korrespondenz mit einem guten Freund und Schiffskameraden des Segelschiffes zu genießen. Das Deutsche Rote Kreuz konnte jedoch keine Informationen über andere deutsche Schiffskollegen von meinem ehemaligen Schiff aufdecken.

Postmeister, Hamburg, Deutschland

Der Postmeister von Hamburg hat meine Anfrage bezüglich Informationen über ehemalige Schiffskollegen in einer führenden Hamburger Zeitung veröffentlicht und verschiedenen Organisationen zur Kenntnis gebracht. Durch diese Bemühungen erfuhr Kapitän-Leutnant Schwarz meinen Aufenthaltsort und beschloss, mit mir zu korrespondieren.

Herr E. Kristoffersen

Postmeister von Halden, Norwegen Die Zusammenarbeit mit Herrn Kristoffersen war langwierig und wunderbar und wird sehr geschätzt. Seine Zeit und Bemühungen ermöglichten es mir, einen anderen Schiffskameraden, Johan Fjeld, aus der Stadt Fredrikstad, Norwegen, zu finden, mit dem ich korrespondierte.

Pastor's Ambetet

Malmö, Schweden.
Diese Organisation hat durch den Public Record Keener von Malmö den Aufenthaltsort von Axel Wilelm Jönsson, (Adolph), dem Koch der Cambuskenneth, aufgedeckt.

Stadtbeamte von Birmingham und Smethwick, England.

Beide Herren trugen großzügig dazu bei, meinen ehemaligen Schiffskameraden John Brale (Jimmy) ausfindig zu machen. Die Ergebnisse waren jedoch negativ.

Postmeister - Bergen, Norwegen und Lausanne, Schweiz.

Ihre Bemühungen und Informationen über ehemalige Schiffskollegen werden ebenfalls geschätzt.

National Organization of Masters, Mates & Pilots of America.

Einheimische AO und 90 von San Francisco, Kalifornien.
Hinweise, die mir von diesen Organisationen übermittelt wurden, ermöglichten es mir, Captain William Z. Haskins zu kontaktieren.

Roy Peterson - Bonneville, Oregon.

Ein professioneller Fotograf und Freund. Herr Peterson trug sehr großzügig zu seiner Zeit und seinem Talent bei, die Bilder und Dokumente der Erzählung zu reproduzieren. Seine Hilfe wird sehr geschätzt.

Anmerkung

Die Anerkennungen können zweifellos in viel besserer Form ausgedrückt werden. Ich gebe lediglich meine Gedanken zu den einzelnen Fällen ab.

C.F.L.