Web Analytics

How this site was developed

This web site is about the manuscript "Windjammer to submarine" by Carl Frank List. The web site was created by me, Jan Hartmann from Germany. My great-grandfather was Johann Heinrich Löding, who was called "Hein" in the narrative. Carl Frank List gave a copy of his manuscript to my great-grandfather. My great-grandfather gave it to my grandparents, my grandparents gave it to my parents, and my parents gave it to me.

The work on this homepage project started in 2012. First of all the manuscript copy - about 400 yellowed pages in U.S. Letter format had to be scanned to get a digital version (PDF) of it. That work did Hohnholt company (link), an old-established reprography company in Bremen. Then a chinese OCR software was used to extract the raw text out of the PDF file. The result was a plain text file.

The German translation you can read here was created with Deepl Pro (link), an excellent translation tool which uses artificial neuronal networks. But of course such an automatic translation has to be proofread, which is an ongoing project for me.

Both the files of the English original and the German translation were reformatted by inserting Markdown formatting attributes for the table of contents, headers, paragraphs and tables.

HTML versions are generated from the two Markdown files using the "markdown" tool to enable online reading. In addition, two other HTML versions with fewer formatting attributes are created. These versions serve as the basis for the German and English e-books generated with Calibre's "ebook-convert" tool (link).


Jan Hartmann in January, 2019

Contact me: jan122@posteo.de

Web Analytics

Wie diese Seite entwickelt wurde

Auf dieser Website geht es um das Manuskript "Windjammer to submarine" von Carl Frank List. Die Website wurde von mir, Jan Hartmann aus Deutschland, erstellt. Mein Urgroßvater war Johann Heinrich Löding, der in der Erzählung "Hein" genannt wird. Carl Frank List gab meinem Urgroßvater eine Kopie seines Manuskripts. Mein Urgroßvater gab es meinen Großeltern, meine Großeltern gaben es meinen Eltern, und meine Eltern gaben es mir.

Die Arbeit an diesem Homepage-Projekt begann 2012. Zuerst musste die Manuskriptkopie - etwa 400 vergilbte Seiten im US-Letter-Format - gescannt werden, um eine digitale Version (PDF) davon zu erhalten. Diese Arbeit führte die Firma Hohnholt (Link), eine alteingesessene Reprografiefirma in Bremen, durch. Anschließend wurde mit einer chinesischen OCR-Software der Rohtext aus der PDF-Datei extrahiert. Das Ergebnis war eine reine Textdatei.

Die deutsche Übersetzung, die Sie hier lesen können, wurde mit Deepl Pro (link) erstellt, einem ausgezeichneten Übersetzungstool, das künstliche neuronale Netzwerke verwendet. Aber natürlich muss eine solche automatische Übersetzung Korrektur gelesen werden, was für mich ein laufendes Projekt ist.

Sowohl die Dateien des englischen Originals als auch der deutschen Übersetzung wurden durch das Einfügen von Markdown-Formatierungsattributen für das Inhaltsverzeichnis, die Überschriften, Absätze und Tabellen neu formatiert.

Aus den beiden Markdown-Dateien werden mit dem "markdown" Tool HTML-Versionen generiert, um das Lesen online zu ermöglichen. Außerdem werden zwei weitere HTML-Versionen mit weniger Formatierungsattributen erstellt. Diese Versionen dienen als Grundlage für das deutsche und das englische e-Book, welche mit dem Tool "ebook-convert" von Calibre (link) generiert werden.


Jan Hartmann in January, 2019

Kontaktieren Sie mich: jan122@posteo.de